DORA (Digital On-Road Access) was set up in 2012 with support from InternetNZ to provide a mobile learning centre in Christchurch following the 2011 earthquake.  DORA was subsequently used to support Stepping UP programmes on the West Coast and Digital Seniors in the Wairarapa.  The classroom is suitable for use by up to 10 adults at any one time.

From July 2019 to September 2020 DORA is on a national ‘tour of duty’ delivering Digital Banking classes.

DORA is scheduled to visit the following regions

  • Whanganui and Rangitikei
  • Coromandel
  • West Coast
  • Bay of Plenty
  • Nelson and Tasman
  • Northland
  • King Country and Taupo
  • Hawkes Bay and Gisborne
  • Southland

DORA’s on board equipment is powered by solar charged batteries, and internet access is provided by both terrestrial wireless networks (3G and 4G), and in more remote areas, by satellite.  This enables DORA to operate at any location in New Zealand that is reachable by road.